## Subsection 1.-Newfoundland

The Government of Newfoundland consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly has 42 members elected for a term of five years. The Legislature elected Nov. 19, 1962 is the 33rd in the history of Newfoundland and the 5th since Confederation.

Since the date of Confederation, Mar. 31, 1949, the province has had four Lieutenant-Governors: the Hon. Sir Albert Joseph Walsh commissioned Apr. 1, 1949; the Hon. Lt.-Col. Sir Leonard Outerbridge commissioned Sept. 5, 1949; the Hon. Campbell Macpherson commissioned Dec. 16, 1957; and the Hon. Fabian O'Dea commissioned Mar. 1, 1963. The first Ministry, formed on July 13, 1949 under the leadership of the Hon. Joseph R. Smallwood, was still in office on Apr. 30, 1964.

The Premier receives a salary of \$10,000 and the other Cabinet Ministers \$9,000 per annum, plus a sessional indemnity of \$3,333.33 and a travelling and expense allowance of \$2,166.66. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,333.33 plus a travelling and expense allowance of \$1,666.66. An additional allowance of \$3,000 is made to the Leader of the Opposition.

14.—First Ministry of Newfoundland, as at Apr. 30, 1964
(Party standing at latest General Election, Nov. 19, 1962: 34 Liberal, 7 Progressive Conservative and 1 Independent.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Minister of Economic Development. Attorney General Minister of Mines, Agriculture and Resources. Minister of Labour. Minister of Finance. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Highways. Minister of Highways. Minister of Public Welfare and Solicitor General. Minister of Provincial Affairs. Minister of Health. Minister of Health. Minister of Municipal Affairs and Supply. Minister of Education. Minister of Education.	Hon. J. R. SMALLWOOD. Hon. L. R. CURTIS. Hon. W. J. KEOUGH. Hon. C. H. BALLAM. Hon. E. S. SPENCER. Hon. J. R. CHALKER. Hon. F. W. ROWE. Hon. P. J. LEWIS. Hon. M. P. MURRAY. Hon. J. T. CHEESEMAN. Hon. J. M. MCGRATH	Apr. 1, 1949 July 29, 1949 Apr. 4, 1950 July 29, 1949 Apr. 4, 1950 May 21, 1952 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 May 1, 1957 July 5, 1956 May 1, 1957 Aug. 26, 1959	Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949 May 1, 1957 Apr. 4, 1955 May 1, 1957 May 1, 1957 May 11, 1959 Dec. 15, 1963 Apr. 10, 1955 Feb. 15, 1963 Aug. 7, 1956 May 1, 1957 Aug. 26, 1959 Feb. 15, 1963

## Subsection 2.—Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1873) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 105; since that date, the position has been held by the Hon. F. W. Hyndman, appointed effective Mar. 31, 1958, followed by the Hon. W. J. MacDonald, appointed effective Aug. 1, 1963.

The General Assembly elected Dec. 10, 1962 is the 50th in the history of Prince Edward Island Legislatures and the 25th since Confederation. It has 30 members from 15 electoral districts who serve for a statutory term of five years. One half of the members of the Legislative Assembly are elected on a property vote. Each district elects one Councillor (elected on a property vote) and one Assembly member (elected on a general franchise vote). Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 105.

The annual salary of the Premier is \$8,000 and that of a Cabinet Minister \$5,000. Each member of the Assembly is paid \$2,000 for each session attended by him and an